Sui Generis

April 26, 2006

Beginning

Filed under: Life — by Joyful Girl @ 9:03 pm

Beginnings are usually scary and endings are usually sad, but it’s the middle that counts. You have to remember this when you find yourself at the beginning.”   ~ Sandra Bullock

I used to be afraid of beginning new things, but truth be told, I actually look foward to beginning anew these days.   Sure, there is an element of the unknown, and plenty of opportunities for second-guessing oneself abound.   Still, there is something exuberant about walking into the “unknown” and learning new things.  Call me a perpetual student, but if I am not able to learn something new constantly I feel a more than a little stagnant.   Every day there is something to be learned, something to take with me and potentially expand upon.

This is an especially exciting time for me, as I prepare to begin graduate school.  I will begin working on my Master’s Degree in Social Work this fall.  I am looking forward to this new chapter in my life and for the opportunity to further develop my skills and education as a social worker.

I’ve been working in long term care for over 10 years.  It is my desire to become more adept in the field of geriatric social work and possibly explore the area of grief and bereavement counseling.  I truly enjoy working with the elderly and have learned so much about myself, relationships and the world we live in through my years in this field.

Join me here, as I reflect on my journey and experiences from the social work field, from school and from my daily interactions.  

1 Comment »

  1. i have been a volunteer for 2 years on social works and this is a very exciting job for me ~*:

    Comment by Curtain Panels — December 3, 2010 @ 6:16 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

