Sui Generis

August 29, 2006

Reality is creeping in…

Filed under: Life — by Joyful Girl @ 9:52 pm

“Other people may be there to help us, teach us, guide us along our path, but the lesson to be learned is always ours.” ~ Unknown

Wow…two days into MSW program and I’m already wondering how I am ever going to get through the next two years in one piece!  Don’t get me wrong, I am so excited and feel very positive that I am exactly where I am supposed to be.   But now I have a better sense of the work-load that is expected and I get the feeling that there are going to be periods of time in the semester when I am not going to be very easy to be around…

There is so much to learn, read and do….in a way, I can see these two years flying by.   I guess I was a little naive prior to starting school, in my thinking that this program will not be too intense.  I had wavered for a while before applying to the MSW program, not quite sure if I wanted to pursue the pure academic route by getting a Master’s in Sociology or going with a program that offered more clinical, hands on experiences such as the Master’s in Social Work.   I chose to go the MSW route figuring this would be the more marketable (and flexible) degree to have in the end.  I also had this notion that the course work would not be as heavy as the Sociology graduate level.  I sure was mistaken!

One thing that especially intimidates me right now is the whole idea of technical writing.  I’ve always been comfortable with the writing and research process, but at this level, all bets are off.  Papers have to be written in APA style, and the professors seem really strict about this.   I bought an APA Publication Manual, as everyone and their brother strongly suggested…and I know I have my work cut out for me big time.

But the challenge is invigorating.  I feel so at home in the university culture.  This is a very exciting and life-changing time….I look forward to this journey and am grateful to be able to take it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

